Political Science

  • Senior College
  • Political Science

Brief Description of Department

The Department of Political Science was established in 1959. The Department offers six papers of Political Science at TYBA level. The Department offers a unique paper at TYBA - Understanding Politics through Films. The subject is taught in both English and Marathi Medium. The Department aims at going beyond theory –

  • Study of actual Political Process
  • Focus on current events
  • Studying Politics in the context of Society
  • Creating a strong foundation for career advancement.

  • Political science is a social science which deals with systems of governance, and the analysis of political activities, political thought, and political behaviour. It extensively deals with the theory and practice of politics which is commonly thought of as determining of the distribution of power and resources. Political scientists see themselves engaged in revealing the relationships underlying political events and conditions, and from these revelations they attempt to construct general principles about the way the world of politics works. Political science comprises numerous subfields including comparative politics, political economy, international relations, political theory, public administration, public policy and political methodology. Furthermore, political science is related to and draws upon the fields of economics, law, sociology, history, philosophy, geography, psychology and anthropology.

  • Political Science is one of the most popular options amongst the students of Arts Faculty.
  • At the First and Second Year, around 250 students choose Political Science as one of their optional subjects.
  • At the Third Year, around 60 students choose Political Science as their Specialized Subject.
  • The department offers a unique paper at TYBA level – Understanding Politics through films.
  • The department makes extensive use of visual media Films/ documentaries.
  • Undergraduate Courses Offered by Department
    Programme Name Bachelor of Arts
    Degree/Diploma/Certificate Degree
    Aided/Self-Financed AIDED
    Year of Starting 1959
    Intake Capacity 300
  • Subject Combination Offered at FYBA level
  • Economics-Politics-History
  • Philosophy- Politics- History
  • Philosophy- Politics- Psychology
  • Politics can be offered with Economics, History and any literature
  • At TYBA Level
  • For English Medium
  • Political Science - 6 papers
  • Political Science and Economics
  • For Marathi Medium
  • Political Science and History
  • Political Science and Economics
  • Political Science and Marathi Literature
  • Political Science and Hindi Literature
  • Eligibility Criteria for TYBA minimum A grade in all the semesters
    1 Dr.Vaibhavi Palsule Head of Department M.A.,NET, Ph.D.
    2 Ms. Madhura Bane Assistant Professor M.A, SET
    3 Ms. Manasi Misal Asst. professor M.A, SET
    4 Ms. Gayatri Lele Asst. professor M.A, SET


  • ‘ Terrorism in India’ by Prakash Bal – 2013
  • ‘Dalit Politics in Maharashtra’ by Dr. Deepak Pawar – 2014
  • ‘ Electoral Politics in India’ by Dr. Vinay Sahasrabuddhe - 2014
  • ‘ Dynamics of Indian Ocean Region’ by Dr. Uttara Sahasrabuddhe – 2015
  • ‘ Role of Youth in Social Transformation’ by Ms. Rahee Shruti Ganesh – 2016
  • ‘ Unfurling the rainbow flag’ by Adv.Debashree Mandpe - 2018

    Organized a national Conference titled “ Public Finance and Public Policy” in collaboration with Department of Economics, Ramnarain Ruia College, sponsored by ICSSR - January 2014


  • Study visit to Hyderabad - 2013
  • Study visit to Malvan – 2014
  • Attended a session of State Legislative Assembly of Maharashtra - 2016
  • Social Tour to Nagar ( Ralegan Siddhi, Hivrebazaar, Snehalaya, Snehankur) – March 2017
  • Study visit to Amritsar, Chandigarh and Shimla – November 2017

  • Annual Festival – “ We, the people”
  • Monthly discussion forum “ Ecclesia”
    2012-13 Ms. Ankita Bhatkhande University toppers
    2013-14 Ms. Sharwari Agashe University toppers
    2013-14 Swapna Shinde, Rohit Haake Second Prize in ‘ Paper presentation competition’ for paper in Ramniranjan Jhunjunwala College, Mumbai – 2013-14
    2013-14 Abhishek Patane and Rohit Hake First prize in Quiz Competition organized by Ruia Quiz Club as well as they received second rank in Tambekar Trophy intercollegiate competition.
    2009-10 Preeti Desai Officer Combined Armed Forces
    2009-10 Amod Nagpure I.P.S Officer Government of India
    2009-10 Mangesh Tirodkar Lawyer High Court
    2012-13 Ankita Bhatkhande- Journalist Hindustan Times
    2013-14 Abhishek Patane Project Head Water and Sanitation Department