The Department of Philosophy

Faculty members-

Head – Ms. Vatsala Pai

M.A.(Mumbai University), M.Phil.,

Specialization- Indian Philosophy with special reference to Vedanta Philosophy

Area of interests- Ethics, Social Philosophy

 Mrs.Himani Chaukar

M.A.(Pune University), SET

Certificate course in Yoga (Kaivalyadham-Lonavla)

Specialization- Tribal Philosophy with special reference to the tribes from North East India

Area of Interests- Yoga Philosophy, Logic, Western Philosophy

Ms. Jyoti Gaikwad

M.A.(Mumbai University)

Specialization- Indian Philosophy, Buddhism, Ambedkar Buddhism 

Papers taught by the Dept. at T.Y.B.A.

1. History of indian and Western Philosophy

2. Philosophy of Religion

3. Philosophy of Bhadvad Gita

4. Yoga Philosophy (Theory)

 5. Formal Logic

6. Living Ethical Issues 

Prominent Activities conducted by the Department-

1. N.V.Joshi Memorial lectures (held in the month of January/ February) - 
Prominent Speakers who were invited for these lectures-
Dr. Gauri Mahulikar (former Head of the dept. of Sanskrit,Uni.of Mumbai)
Dr. Okherjee (former Head of the Dept.of Philosophy, Wilson college
Dr.Sadananda More (former Head of the dept.of Philosophy,Uni.of Pune)
Dr.S.S.Antarkar (former Head of the dept.of Philosophy,Uni.of Mumbai)

2. The Department conducts various seminars on different themes -  
To develop a broader perspective about the subject, we organize lectures in various interdisciplinary fields which are related to philosophy. This also helps interaction between various departments in the college.
  • Workshops on Practical aspects of Philosophy 
  • Lecture series on Contemparary trends in Philosophy – Phenomenology, Hermeneutics, Post-modernism
  • Seminars on ideas of prominent Philosophers and philosophies 
  • 'Reconquista' - Annual Departmental Festival organized bu the students 
  • Syllabus review and revisionworkshops
  • Regular talks and demonstrations are held in Yoga.