• Senior College
  • History

Brief Description of Department

The Department of History was founded with the establishment of Ruia College in 1937. In the past, distinguished academicians such as Dr.V.N.Rao, Dr. ShashiprabhaGhugare, Dr. MohiniMathur ,Dr, Rajesh Basrur Dr. VarshaShirgaonkarhave enriched the Department and created a strong tradition of excellence. At present there are three faculty members. The Department offers B.A. and Ph.D. courses. The Department of History was the first department in the arts faculty to offer Ph.D. Programme.The faculty believes in overall development of the students hence encourages them to participate in research seminars, skill based workshops and other extra and co-curricular activities. The department trains students to develop analytical thinking and to understand local, national and global issues in historical perspective. The focus is also to coach students to clear competitive examinations like UGC NET/SET and Civil Service Examination and to achieve excellence in wide range of careers like teaching, archaeology, museum, archives and research.Since 2008 the department organizes Professor D.D.Kosambi Memorial public Lecture. Department organizes annual study tour and visits to historical monuments and museums. Signature festival titled Mudra is highlight of the department .

UG: History (6 Units) (EM/MM)

Certificate courses in Applied Economics is also undertaken by the department every year.

History +Marathi (3Units) (MM)

History + Politics (MM)

History + Economics (MM)

Ph. D.

Inculcating Strong research culture Project based learning

Creating industry ready candidates through

    Skill based Workshops: Advanced Course in Heritage of Mumbai, Introduction to Archaeology, Introduction to Food History and Culture.

    Internship with Industries.

    Study tours

    University rankers

Undergraduate Courses Offered by Department
Programme Name Bachelor of Arts
Degree/Diploma/Certificate Degree (03 Yrs)
Aided/Self-Financed AIDED
Year of Starting 1937
Intake Capacity 240
1 Dr.Mohsina Mukadam ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR & Head B.A., M.A., M.Phil, Ph.D. Food History and Culture
2 Prof. Louiza Rodrigues Professor B.A., M.A., M.Phil, Ph.D. Heritage of Mumbai, Urban history, Environmental History, Genealogy and Modern India
3 Dr. Pradeep Waghmare Assistant Professor B.A., M.A., Ph.D. Set Indian Labour Movement and Indian Dalit Movement

Intercollegiate Competition under Departmental Festival titled Mudra

2006 Ms. Gouri Deshpande First Rank University of Mumbai
2007 Ms.Shraddha Batavdekar First Rank
2007 Gaurav Gadgil Third Rank Recipient of Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Fellowship.
2009 Abhishek Tharwal First Rank
2009 Manasi Parpiani Third Rank
2010 Namita Repe Second Rank
2011 Anuja Joshi First Rank
2011 Urmi Paralikar Second Rank
2011 Pallavi Ramane Third Rank
2012 Tanvi Nair Third Rank
2015 Anuja Dhamnaskar second Rank
2015 Aditi Gala Third Rank
2011 Sagar Karkhanis Recipient of J.V.Naik Scholarship( University of Mumbai)
Vrunda Pathare Rising Star of Ruia award by Ruia College Allumi Association
Sameer Wankhede Rising Star of Ruia award by Ruia College Allumi Association
Sujitha Pillai recipient of Erasmus Mundus Scholarship sponsored by European Union
Swapna Joshi The Young Researcher in History award
AlokOke Young Historian Award
2014-15 Mohan Gaikwad Won Bloggers Bench award instituted by leading Marathi newspaper Lokasatta.
2016-17 Vinayak Arote Won Bloggers Bench award instituted by leading Marathi newspaper Lokasatta.
2017-18 Harshada Pawar Recipient of Prof. Shreekumar Trophy
2017-18 Sharddha Sirmukadam Recipient of Kalindi Jaykar Trophy
2007 Gaurav Gadgil K.J.Somaiya College of Arts and Science
2011 Sagar Karkhanis J. V. Mehta College of Arts and Commerce
2011 Urmi Paralikar Ram NarainRuiaCollege .
Sudha Sawant Godrej Archives
2011 Anuja Joshi Yatra Metro X
2011 Aditya Dhaifule Shailendra Collage
Sameer Wankhede (IRS): Add. Superintendent of Police National Investigation Agency, Mumbai
Vrunda Pathare Manager of Archives Godrej, Mumbai
Vaidehi pujari Bhagvat Asst. Research Officer Dept. of Gazetteer, Maharashtra State
Sangamitra Sen Archivist Past Perfect
Anurag Gokhale Advocate High Court
Abhishek Tharwal IRS Government of India
Amit Kadam IRS Government of India
Supriya Menon Museologist Free Lancer
Supriya Vartak Museologist
Abhijeet Khade Creative Director Star Pravaha Channel
Spruha Josji Actress
Shipra Joshi Gymnast: Chhatrapati Award Winner
Shubhanker Karande Unity India ( Media Company)